The Rugby World Cup 2019

The Rugby World Cup isjust around the corner and teams are making their final preparations ahead of the 2019 edition, which will be held in Japan. Inclusion of events in the world cup has been urged by increased acceptance among the population and the increased investments from sponsors and club owners. This is the third largest sports event in the world  after the football world cup and the summer Olympics, and is hosted every four years. The 2019 event will see twenty national sides participating, with the matches being held in twelve different locations within Japan.

Quick facts about the 2019 Rugby World Cup

The Dates

The 2019 showpiece will run from 20th September 2019 to 2nd November 2019, with Japan hosting the competition. New Zealand have won the last two tournaments on the trott and it is to be seen if they can make it a hat-trick. The team has had a superb 2018, having won the first round of the Rugby Sevens Series in Dubai recently after beating the USA in the final.

Who has won the Rugby World Cup?

The All Blacks have won the Rugby World Cup three times; 1987, 2011, 2015. Apart from the All Blacks, three other countries have won the World Cup: Australia twice in 1991,1999; South Africa also twice 1995, 2007 and England have lifted the trophy once, in 2003.

How often is the world cup held?

The Rugby World Cup is held every four years, and the trophy is named the “Webb Ellis Cup”. The trophy was named after Webb Ellis, who is credited with inventing rugby when he picked up the ball during a soccer match and ran with it. There’s also a Women’s Rugby World Cup held every four years, with the next tournament set to take place in 2021. New Zealand is the current holder of the women’s trophy.

Teams to watch

New Zealand being the world champions and having won the last two editions make them the favourites, but there are other countries with much potential, including teams from the Pacific island; Fiji, Samoa and Tonga. Also, from the Northern hemisphere, Ireland, ranked as the world number two, pose a threat, England should also not be ruled out as potential winners.